Category: Military fiction

Top 10 trivia: THE LAZARUS WAR: LEGION

As promised, here’s the second instalment in THE LAZARUS WAR trivia series… LEGION is the action-packed sequel to ARTEFACT. But although it takes the technology and the adventure to a whole new level, there are a fair few Easter eggs hidden in there too. How many did you find?   PFC Mason is of American-Martian descent….


Top 10 trivia: LAZARUS WAR: ARTEFACT

  It’s great when a reader gets in touch about one of my books; nothing quite makes your day like a Twitter message or an email through the website. Sometimes that contact is just to tell you that they enjoyed the story, but sometimes it’s also to ask about something in the book. THE LAZARUS…


Early review of LEGION: “thrilling military SF”

For Winter Nights has just published a really nice review of LEGION! Appreciate the coverage, and it’s great to see that readers are enjoying the new book. Here’s an excerpt from the review: “The setting and context for the Lazarus War series are fabulous! Here we have mysterious artefacts that hint at strange alien species…


SciFiNow Exclusive: Top 10 badass spaceships

Hot on the heels of yesterday’s release of LEGION, SciFiNow has published an article that I wrote about my favourite and starships of SF! “As an author writing space opera, I’ve got to know my stuff about what makes a starship kick some serious butt. Let’s take a look at the 10 most badass starships…


Retro review: ARMOR by John Steakley

John Steakley’s ARMOR (1984, Daw) is regarded, in many ways, as a companion to Heinlein’s STARSHIP TROOPERS. In interviews given at the time of publication, Steakley is quoted as saying that he wrote the book to explore the combat elements of a STARSHIP TROOPERS-like universe: as a direct reaction to the lack of combat in SST….


Retro review: STARSHIP TROOPERS by Robert Heinlein

First published in 1959, Robert Heinlein’s STARSHIP TROOPERS is generally regarded as a modern classic. I first read SST when I was in my late teenage years, and that seems to be the age that many science fiction readers first encounter SST. I’d heard about this crazy, over the top alien war film: that was,…


THE LAZARUS WAR BOOK 2: LEGION

Today I’m super excited to reveal the cover for my next book – THE LAZARUS WAR: LEGION! The folks at Orbit have done a superb job on the cover image, which shows a Krell bio-ship in flight around the Damascus Rift: a location that will be causing the newly-promoted Major Harris and the Lazarus Legion…


THE SOUNDTRACK TO ARTEFACT

ARTEFACT has been out for a few days, and the response so far has been great. It’s encouraging to see people enjoying the book. There’s plenty more of THE LAZARUS WAR to come, with the upcoming release of LEGION (now moved to September 2015) and later in the year REDEMPTION (November 2015). Although there is no…


ARTEFACT RELEASED!

Release day has finally arrived! ARTEFACT is out there… ARTEFACT is book one of THE LAZARUS WAR, an explosive new space adventure series from one of the brightest new stars in science fiction – perfect for fans of THE EDGE OF TOMORROW, ALIEN and James S. A. Corey’s EXPANSE series. Jack Campbell, author of the LOST FLEET novels calls…


ARTEFACT: T-MINUS 1 DAY TO LAUNCH

This is it people: the eve of war… Tomorrow, book 1 of THE LAZARUS WAR is released. ARTEFACT is available at all major stockists – be sure to pick up your copy and let me know what you think of it!  


Skip to toolbar